Living up to the name

Russian Thistle everywhere!

Russian Thistle everywhere!

Just a short update:

Recently, I committed to a name for my vineyard: Vigneto dei Cardi.

After my fist harvest was decimated by the local fauna, and with the added work of a newborn in the house, I have not had much time to visit the vineyard.

I finally had a chance to go up the hill today. I always feel better after I’ve had some time in the vineyard. I put down pressed Fiano skins under the vines and packed some used coffee grounds into anything that looked like a patent gopher tunnel.

We had some rains recently, and my dad has irrigated the vines twice since my last post. So, I was anxious about the state of affairs at the vigneto. I was relieved that things were not tragic but not ideal.

Montepulciano block overgrown by Russian Thistle.

Montepulciano block overgrown by Russian Thistle.

There was not much progression of the drought damage since two weeks ago. The rains spurred indigenous grasses to sprout and drove the weeds, already in place, to grow more.

I had been more diligent about weeding the Aglianico block because I needed to net it. The Montepulciano block, on the other hand, has become severely overgrown – mostly by Russian Thistle.

Looks like I have my work cut out for me:

In the coming days and weeks, I need to cut, pull and haul away all this thistle and other weeds. This will make removing the netting easier. After that, I will await dormancy and prune.

About SUAMW

Father, husband, physician, amateur guitarist, wine lover, wine writer, wine grower and wine maker trying to do it all within eye shot of downtown Los Angeles. http://www.shutupandmakewine.com http://twitter.com/Dr_Arthur_P
This entry was posted in My Vineyard. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

