All done

Bottled Montepulciano

Bottled Montepulciano

This past Sunday morning, my son and I bottled 6.5 gallons of my 2011 Suisun Valley Montepulciano.

This is my 2011 Per Sbaglio Montepulciano.

We blended a 6 gallon lot of unoaked wine with a 1 gallon lot of oaked wine and a 1.5L batch of 2010 wine from the same vineyard, made by my friend, Jeff Miller. The latter was intended to add color, flavor and body to my wine.

I was surprised by the low pH of the final blend:. 3.26….

I had attempted to reduce the acidity by cold stabilization. I avoided bicarb because its said to strip flavors and I really did not want to run the risk of that with this light wine.

Halfway through the bottling, my Ferrari Bottle Filler started acting up: Wine started to spurt and sputter out of the air flow control valve. When I tightened it up, the sputtering stopped but the flow of wine almost did, as well.

Somehow, we got through it and got all the wine into bottles in time to go to my parents’ for a BBQ and a quick check in with the vineyard:

About SUAMW

Father, husband, physician, amateur guitarist, wine lover, wine writer, wine grower and wine maker trying to do it all within eye shot of downtown Los Angeles. http://www.shutupandmakewine.com http://twitter.com/Dr_Arthur_P
This entry was posted in Making Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

