Am I doing it right?

I always thought “Aglianico” was pronounced “a-lee-YAN-ee-koh”. Apparently, I was off by a few phonemens…  (above video is from Jeremy Parzen’s Italian Grape Name and Appellation Pronunciation Project)

But, then, as I progress with this vineyard, I’m frequently asking if I’m doing it right.

Case in point: I plan to use a multi-pronged approach on combating Glassy Winged Sharpshooters in my vineyard. The vines will receive a systemic insecticide (through the irrigation system) and I will also apply the crop protectant, Surround WP (Kaolin clay) to the leaves and canes. Surround helps repel GWSS by making the canes unpleasant to land on.

I mixed up a test batch per package insert and tried it on my back-up vines:

Canopy of one of my back-up Aglianico vines after spraying with Kaolin. Is this amount of film normal or excessive?

Canopy of one of my back-up Aglianico vines after spraying with Kaolin. Is this amount of film normal or excessive?

A close-up of the head of one of my back-up Aglianico vines after spraying with Kaolin (Surround WP - a crop protectant). I've been told that Glassy Winged Sharp Shooters will feed even on lignified canes, so I sprayed green and lignified canes.

A close-up of the head of one of my back-up Aglianico vines after spraying with Kaolin (Surround WP - a crop protectant). I've been told that Glassy Winged Sharp Shooters will feed even on lignified canes, so I sprayed green and lignified canes.

A close-up of one of the fruiting canes on one of my back-up Aglianico vines after spraying with Kaolin. By all indications, it is OK to spray flowers and fruit (pre-veraison) with Kaolin. Does anyone have experience with this?

From all I’ve read about Surround and all the photos I’ve seen, the white film is normal. What I don’t know is if the flowers should be coated and when to stop. I’ve heard that either bunch closure or veraison are end points for Surround application. But I have yet to hear an expert give me a firm, definitive answer.

About SUAMW

Father, husband, physician, amateur guitarist, wine lover, wine writer, wine grower and wine maker trying to do it all within eye shot of downtown Los Angeles. http://www.shutupandmakewine.com http://twitter.com/Dr_Arthur_P
This entry was posted in My vines. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Am I doing it right?

  1. SUAMW says:

    My pleasure. I appreciate your blog as well. I’ll send you a bottle of my Aglianico when its done – if you want.

  2. Do Bianchi says:

    Arthur, thanks for reposting this! :-) And thanks for speaking Italian grapes!

Leave a Reply

